• 312.642.8889
  • search@tuftassoc.com

Texas Medical Association Names New EVP/CEO

Michael J. Darrouzet, MS (HCA), FAAMSE, Chief Executive Officer of the Dallas County Medical Society (DCMS), will become Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Texas Medical Association (TMA), based in Austin, starting September 1.

Darrouzet will become just the fourth executive vice president in TMA’s 166-year history. His predecessor, Louis J. Goodman, PhD, who is retiring this year, managed the association since 1997.

The Tuft team for this executive search included President Jill Christie, and Associates Dr. Kathleen R. Henrichs and Nancy Gray Puckett.

TMA is the 7th state medical association/society to partner with Tuft & Associates. It is the nation’s largest and one of the oldest state medical associations, representing more than 52,000 physician and medical student members across Texas. Founded in 1853, TMA also works in partnership with the state’s 112 county medical societies.

With more than 7,500 physician and medical student members, DCMS is the second-largest county medical society in the country. Darrouzet became CEO of DCMS on January 1, 1997.

Prior to joining DCMS, Darrouzet served as assistant administrator of Brookhaven Hospital in Dallas and as administrator of Willowbrook Hospital in Waxahachie.

He is the former president and chairman of the board of the North Texas Accountable Healthcare Partnership, and currently serves on the board of directors of the Parkland Foundation and the Southwest Transplant Foundation.

Darrouzet is a former board member and past president of the American Association of Medical Society Executives (AAMSE). In 2017, he was named a member of the inaugural class of the Recognized Fellows of AAMSE for his “exceptional leadership, dedication, and longstanding commitment to professional medical society management.”